C&C and Dragonlance

Just a quick postlet. I have been reading Castles and Crusades lately… It’s cool. I first heard of Castles and Crusades thanks to the Dungeoneering Dad blog. Stop by and say hi to Steve the Yuan Ti party hound…

But last night I was just thinking about C&C and I had this minor epiphany that C&C would actually do a better job of being a system for Dragonlance than D&D did. My initial thoughts went a little like this…

Knights of the Crown and the Rose could be fighters or knights. Knights of the Sword (after the return of the gods) could be allowed to exchange levels of Fighter or Knight on a one-for-one with levels of Paladin (it’s nice that paladins are not spellcasting). It’s easy enough to explain away as divine intervention upon their acceptance as Sword Knights. But they could also remain knights… no worry.

Wizards and Illusionists can easily use the Wizard of High Sorcery rules.

Tanis finally makes sense as a ranger (he’s always a fighter in D&D rules).

I also think Seekers would work as Bards about 3rd-4th level. (I’m a big fan of C&C bards).

In the other direction, Tinkers can be adapted directly from the 1E D&D Dragonlance book.

It’s just a first thought but I think if I find myself going back to Krynn, I’ll be doing it with C&C.

7 responses

  1. Old School Gamer Dad | Reply

    Big fan of C&C as well here. It’s what got me back into OS gaming.

  2. yeah, C&C rocks, we play Age of Worms on Wilderlands of High Fantasy with it

  3. I was a late-comer to the C&C bandwagon but there’s a lot there to like. A few things still throw me a little (like the armor and weapon lists — but I’m a minimalist) but some of the stuff is great. I love the C&C Bard and Illusionist. It’s good stuff.

    @Deepfire
    I got a chuckle out of this — I was thinking about how much fun Age of Worms could be as a Dragonlance campaign with Chemosh taking the big-boy chair from Takhisis right after the War of the Lance ends… especially played using C&C.

  4. The Dungeoneering Dad | Reply

    All right, another Crusader! Interesting, I never thought of Dragonlance in terms of C&C, but you’re spot on.

    If you have any C&C questions, let me know or stop by the Troll Lord Games forums.

    1. Thanks for the kind offer. I wasn’t sold on C&C after a quick read through at the game store but when I had a little extra cash and picked up the PDF I was really impressed. It’s a very interesting spin on something that feels like a hybrid of 1E and 3E but also with a it’s own special something that sets it apart.

      Made me think about running Dragonlance again after a long time… I like it.

  5. listen man, you need to stop talking about all these different games on your blog. I just downloaded a C&C bundle. the other day it was marvel rpg and before that Amber. It’s just costing me a fortune.

    1. Sorry to hit the wallet that way but hey, if I can influence someone to buy a great game (even just a little bit…) then I’m happy. I’d love to know what you thought of Amber.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

