Visiting an Old Friend

So, when I started this blog experiment, I mentioned that I was working on it, partly, as a project for my Hypertext Theory course in grad school. My next project is due fairly soon, and I’ve been working on a wiki-style project that involves elements of re-mediation. That’s not remediation (as in remedial) but rather, re-mediating on thing into another. So I went back to an old campaign setting for this one, and I’ve been creating this wiki-style site that displays a lot of the information on my Harseburg homebrew campaign setting.

This setting has been around for quite a few years now, has undergone several re-writes and seen a lot of expansion. But for this project, I wanted to take it back to its roots. I wanted to go back to what made Harseburg in the first place, just a fantasy version of the ‘Burg. I’ve gotten a lot done, have more to do yet (including more interlinking between pages) but a good chunk of stuff is up. I’ve taken out all the “game” style information for now. I’ll start adding more of that back in once I’ve turned it in as a project. I’ve run D&D 3.5 and Warhammer Fantasy 2nd Edition in this world, and generated a lot of gaming stuff for it. But that will come after a grade…

Anyway, if you have the inclination, check out The Kingdom of Harseburg.

4 responses

  1. Ah, The Kingdom of Harseburg is what you connected me to. I da smart. Anyway, I’m really impressed with this world, and was wondering: Was any of it created on the fly, or by previous characters? How much planning should go into a world before you present it to characters? Because I think that there should be at least SOME structure to give the players a guide line to go on, but I liked the way you structured the world we played in during the summer of 2009, giving us a lot of control over what we wanted to see and do. Thoughts? Questions, comments, concerns? I’ll be running a 4ed game over the summer, so I’m wondering, as a 1st Time DM for Dungeons and Dragons (well, sort of) exactly how I should build my world.

  2. When it comes to building worlds, there are sooooo many theories about the right way to do it, I don’t want to get to far into them here. It’s worth it to say though, if you are doing a game of limited scope, just say, a summer, then having a very limited scope to the starting area of the game and allowing players to explore that is good enough. The D&D4e Dungeon Master’s Guide does a great job of setting up a limited area for starting the game, as did the old “Shackled City” Adventure Path. You might look at those two resources as inspiration.

    The reason Harseburg expanded into a whole world was that I kept setting games there instead of moving on. I’ve run, probably, 5 longer term and 10 shorter term games in that setting and so it’s grown and grown.

    Of course, you can also look at the first release of the Greyhawk world from TSR and see that producing a whole world at once is viable too…

  3. I think I’d like to create an outline of a complete world first… you know, have a basic map, a couple of towns/missions/races/classes that I focus on that are my fluff babies, and then let the characters, through role-play and of the like, shape the rest. I like the idea of re-flavoring gnomes as a bird people. They can’t fly, for sure, but they live high up on sea cliffs and practice magic, and they have hollow, brittle bones and blah blah blah on and on about their past. But if a player wants to re-reflavor the gnome into another little species, I don’t see why not. Make them sentient turtles for all I care.

    For setting up campaigns in the world in favor of the players, I suppose asking for character back grounds and ideas from them for what they’d like to see is perfectly acceptable… How much control they have over shaping the world and the way the adventures go really does depend on the players though, correct?

  4. I’d love to see all our old characters and character journals put back up, either here or back at ryllia. I miss that stuff.

Leave a Reply

