I Hate Birthdays… but I Love Madicon

Seeing as how today is my birthday, I thought I would take a minute to talk about something important. Or, at least, important to those involved. I want to take a moment to plug the local gaming convention.

Madicon is a convention based at the campus of James Madison University in Harrisonburg, VA. Feel free to link to the website (there’s also a link in the sidebar of the page) and browse the pages. Some of it is still a work in progress, but the Convention is coming along nicely. This is especially nice, because Madicon is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2011. Every year should be a great year for the convention, but when a convention run by a college organization lasts 20 years, that’s something to be very proud of…

It’s still a pretty long way until March of 2011, but the guest list for the convention is pretty solid at this point and events are starting to show up on the site as well. I know more will be posted in the coming weeks, so you should check back fairly often.

The Guest List

C.S. Friedman – Author Guest of Honor
Katherine Kurtz – Author Guest of Honor
Rob Balder – Excellent Comic/Filk Guest of Honor
Brian Glass – Gaming Guest of Honor (White Wolf)
PST Productions – Gaming Guests of Honor (Cthulhu Live)

The convention staff is pretty excited about the guest list and pretty excited about planning the rest of this event, including the tournaments, gaming events, panels, demonstrations, and as many other activities as they can cram into the weekend. Geek Karaoke is supposed to be making a comeback for the second year in a row (it’s exactly what it sounds like) and I’m hoping the Con can build even more momentum in the costuming department, and have another successful costume contest – C.S. Friedman is also a professional costumer (I hope that’s the right term) and it would be great to get her involved with that aspect of the convention this year.

I know another event being planned this year is to have an official Camarilla LARP (and possibly others) which will be great fun. The PST productions LARP events are amazing, and they have a great space on in the convention center, so they are not to be missed.

Certainly, I’m missing out on some events, some planning that I could write about here, too much is going on to keep it up to put it all here – you can always check out the website!

Anyway, keep Madicon in mind. If you’re anywhere near Harrisonburg, check it out.

–Now a bit of bad news… Things have been a little rough in my life lately, I’ve been having a run of bad luck (who isn’t these days) but some life-plan-altering stuff has been going on. I’m not going to be writing here for a while. Fear not, the RG will go on. I’ve invited some friends to guest post here for a little while (and they’ll be keeping a regular schedule) until I can get my focus back – and I may pop in and write if I find myself needing to – but for now…

Thanks for reading. And go check out Madicon, it’s a great con!

Leave a Reply

