Just Add 4E (and anything negative)…

So,

I’ll keep this brief, and I’ll get to a real post a little later, but I just checked out my views, which I do from time to time… you know, to see where things stand… and on average, about 100 views around a day I post feels pretty good. I won’t complain at all if I get that.

But then today I see this:

889 views! And the title was “What 4E Got Wrong, for me…” My earlier post, “What 4E got Right for Me” generated about 230 views, across two days, the day it was posted and the next.

So, apparently, that’s the strategy for generating views — Just add 4E, and anything negative to the title and you’re golden.

(Please note, this is all a bit tongue-in-cheek. I certainly don’t want to troll-blog and I certainly appreciate all the views. It was just so *censored* shocking, I had to say something… I mean, whoa!)

So, thanks for the views, and I’ll see you later today.

9 responses

  1. Sad, but true.

    Don’t be fooled by the smoke though. I find that negative posts generate high volume short-term hits from the vampire trolls who like to find something to latch onto, but the positive ones will keep generating hits months later. I reckon they give better “hit value” in the end.

    I know you won’t be tempted to the dark side πŸ˜€

    1. No. No troll posting for me. I just found it amazing.

  2. Not to spoil the joke (although that is one of my feats), it may not be quite that simple (it’s close, though): Did you check out the referring links?

    I had the same spike in hits happen at my site yesterday and it turned out the source was reddit. Some kind soul put both your post and mine up on reddit/r/rpg and the bulk of the hits I got yesterday were from there.

    Your piece has generated 30+ comments on the reddit rpg page so far, mine has generated nothing but a ‘Thanks for posting’ but has been read more often… Taking that into account, I’d say adding 4E certainly gets people talking. πŸ˜‰

    1. Interesting. I’ll need to check that out. Thanks for letting me know.

      1. Incidentally,

        Just went and checked out Reddit for the first time… well, you know what Thumper said…

  3. The glass is certainly half empty for a lot of folks. Lately though ive read some truly insightful takes on playing with 4e. I believe the core of the problem lies not so much with the rules, but how they were presented and how early adventure design for 4e was templated.

    1. I totally second that comment.

    2. Oh,

      It’s not a thing. I enjoy 4E. That’s why I wrote the “Stuff I like” and “Stuff I don’t like” posts. 4E has issues — every game does. Those are the ones that really bother me…

Leave a Reply

