Phanaton!

I read a post today from Greywulf’s Lair revisiting the Creature Catalog. I too have fond memories of this book, and he referenced one of my all time favorites, the Phanaton.

When I was working on my Blighted World game for D&D 4E I began converting the Phanaton into 4E as a potential replacement for halflings in that jungle setting. I’m not completely sure this is what I’d call a final version, but that post inspired me to toss this up on the blog. Maybe the feedback will help me if I decide to finish them and run that game someday!

Enjoy.

Phanaton (for 4E)

RACIAL TRAITS
Average Height: 3’6” – 4’6”
Average Weight: 70-85 lbs.

Ability Scores: +2 Dexterity, +2 Constitution or +2 Wisdom
Size: Small
Speed: 6 squares.
Vision: Normal

Languages: Common, One Other
Skill Bonuses: +2 to Acrobatics and Stealth
Phanaton Defenses: You gain a +1 racial bonus to Fortitude, Reflex, and Will
Gliding Flaps: As long as you are awake and able to take free actions, you never take damage from falling.
Prehensile Tail: You gain a +2 to all skill checks to climb or balance. You may also pick up or hold an object with your tail, though it cannot be used to weild weapons, shields, or implements (or any similar item).
Agile Movement: You have the Agile Movement power.

Agile Movement (Phanaton Racial Power)
Encounter
Move Action Personal
Effect: You shift up to your speed and gain a +2 to Armor Class and Reflex Defense until the end of your next turn.

3 responses

  1. Excellent! Consider this snarfed – I’m so glad you picked up the ball on this 🙂

  2. No, thank you. The Creature Catalog is a great book and it’s nice to see it get love. The Phanaton, Rakasta, Iron Gargoyles, Nagpa, Pegataurs… I can’t say how many times I used creatures from this book even when I wasn’t playing D&D.

  3. […] couple of weeks ago I posted my 4E version of a creature from the very early days of D&D, the Phanaton and I decided that since I posted something contrary about 4E last time I’d build back up a […]

Leave a Reply

