Some Tuesday 2E Remembering…

I used to tinker a great deal more with games than I do now. Not that I don’t still tinker, but I often find that many of the games I now choose to play provide me with the options I’m looking for. I suppose it’s a natural progression. But back in the 90s I spent a lot of time trying to fit things I was looking for into 2E.

A while back I posted the Charlatan class I created — and going through some old boxes recently I found a notebook full of other old 2E notes. A few of those pages were other character classes I’d crafted for use in the games I was running. Some of those were designed using the Skills and Powers rules, but some, like the Charlatan were built using the DMG class method as inspiration.

I decided I’d throw another one of those old classes out today — One I played a few times myself back in those heady days: my version of a D&D Swashbuckler. I’ve included the same basic descriptive paragraph I wrote back then… which I feel a little silly about now, but, oh well.

The Swashbuckler
The swashbuckler is representative of any lightly armed and armored roguish warrior. The swashbuckler is highly adroit and socially adept as well. The prime requisites of the class are Dexterity and Charisma. A PC with 16 or higher in both attributes earns a 10% bonus to experience points. To enter the class you must have a minimum Dexterity of 12 and Charisma of 13. The class is open to humans, half-elves, gnomes, and halflings.

Combat Value: Warrior
Saves: Rogue
Hit Dice: 1d8
Armor: Limited
Weapons: All
HP/level past 9th: +2

Class Abilities
Weapon Specialization
2 Initial Weapon Proficiencies
5 Initial Non-weapon Proficiencies
Etiquette Proficiency
Move Silently
Climb Walls
Hear Noise
Evasion

Restrictions
Must be Chaotic in alignment

Leave a Reply

