I’m that guy… (Skyrim related)

I love Skyrim. I just need to clear that up so I can proceed and everyone will understand that I love Skyrim. I loved Oblivion and I’ll probably love whatever comes next so, just sayin’. But I realized something while I was playing today…

I’m that guy.

Let me explain. I don’t think of myself as a power-gamer. When I say power-gamer that way, what I mean is someone who combines min-maxer with I-can-do-it-all-better-than-you syndrome. I’ve played with a few too many of these players and since they don’t really fit my play style I do try to avoid them. Not be rude or anything — I just know what I like.

But then I had this exchange with my girlfriend when she was playing…

Me: You should have bought those two silver ores from that merchant.

Her: ?

Me: Since you have that Transmute spell you could turn them into gold, make gold rings and sell them back to him for a huge profit…

Her: Yeah, I could have.

Now, don’t get me wrong — that’s just one little thing, right? But the fact that it was so easy for me to slip into thinking that way surprised me. As I thought about it more, I realized that when I’m playing Skyrim, I love the fact that I can do everything myself. I can smith and improve my own weapons and armor. I can enchant those same weapons and armor. I can heal myself with magic or use alchemy to make my own potions. If I don’t want to use magic at all, I can cook and use food to recover health and never need spells or potions. I can swim, use any type of armor, any type of weapon, and if I really want, I can even have a companion but I don’t really need one. I love the fact that I’m completely independent because my character can do everything.

Understand that I’m joking myself a little here. I understand the difference between my playing at an RPG table and a computer game. And as much as I like Skyrim (and I love Skyrim) I don’t want the same experience at the game table. I don’t need to be good at everything and I don’t want to be “better” than the other PCs. That’s not a victory for me. In the end, I know what I like in each experience and I’m happy with the two experiences remaining separate.

Thanks for reading.

One response

  1. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this publish and if I may just I wish to counsel you few attention-grabbing things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles regarding this article. I wish to learn even more things approximately it!

Leave a Reply

