Marscon Follow Up

Spent the weekend at Marscon (Williamsburg, VA) and had a wonderful time (as always). Still recovering a little bit today. I know you can just follow the link but I want to mention that Marscon is by far one of my favorite events of the year. This was my fourth year attending and already there is a wonderful sense of continuity to it. People I see only once a year but still know. It’s a special weekend getting to see them again. And there are always new things to discover.

I spent most of my time this weekend listening to music actually. Jonah Knight performed several times and hosted the Saturday night “Mocktail” party. He’s always a great performer but probably the high point of the mocktail party was getting served peach flavored booze from a nozzle attached to (what appeared to be) a rocket pack. A big thanks to Jonah Knight though for being a part of Marscon (and he’ll be at Madicon this year too). I also was introduced to the comedy and music of Mikey Mason and he was awesome. If you don’t know him, check out his site now. Nice guy, gracious guest, great performer.

Got a chance to play in some Pathfinder Society games — and big thanks to the GM for the session I started in. He wasn’t planning on running the adventure and had to run it cold because they had so many players… and he did a great job of soldiering through, keeping the game going, and making sure everyone had fun. It was an interesting mix at the table, 4E players, 2E players, and some guys who had played 3.5 but never Pathfinder. Everyone hammed it up and had a great day though. I was assaulted with a “toy” by an Imp and propositioned by a Chelaxian noble then all but killed by a barbarian in the mist. Quality day all around. I don’t play with new groups, or with strangers, all that often so this was a nice change of pace. I kinda wish we had Pathfinder Society events in my area… but to make that happened I’d probably have to run them instead of play.

I didn’t have a chance to play any Battletech this year. I’m a little sad about that because the group that runs it at Marscon are great guys and always run a great event. But there’s always next year…

Which brings up the fact that this was a big (and in some ways sad) year for Marscon. Every year at Marscon for the last nine years they’ve capped off Saturday night with a wonderful performance by Coyote Run. Sadly, Coyote Run is calling it quits and won’t be performing anymore. Their last Marscon performance was heartfelt and huge, with the performance hall completely packed. I don’t know what else will close out Saturday at Marscon as well as they did, but I will miss them. Also, the staff announced that Marscon is changing hotels next year. I’m going to reserve any judgement until next year because a change of venue is always hard. I have complete faith that Marscon will be the same wonderful event is always is… but I will miss the old hotel — the staff has always been wonderful and very supportive of the con.

It was a great weekend and I’m already looking forward to next year. Marscon is definitely an event worth checking out.

One response

  1. […] Marscon Follow Up « The Rhetorical GamerLuna-C Variety Show at Marscon. Sat Jan 14 2012 at 04:00 pm. Venue : Marscon , Williamsburg, Virginia, United States. Created By : Luna-C Productions … […]

Leave a Reply

