Risk: Legacy

Last weekend I started a group playing through Risk: Legacy. For those who don’t know, Risk: Legacy is a crazy idea in boardgaming where as you play the game you actually change the game. You put stickers on the board, write on the board, sign it when you win, add stuff to cards, take stuff off cards, and as you hit certain milestones you unlock new components and bits from the game box.

I’ve been itching to do this since I heard the game was being released. We’ve played the first two games of our attempt and I have no idea how this is going to go but it’s a pretty wild ride. After Sunday’s game I’m hoping we’ll have actually unlocked a set of components… which I’m really looking forward to.

We’ve already founded two major cities and two minor cities, put scars on the board, added resources to cards, and no one has been eliminated in a game yet… Honestly, I’m thinking about blogging the whole experience with pictures and play reports but I’m not sure that I should… I’d hate to ruin the surprise for anyone else who was going to play through it!

One quick tip though. In my group of players there is one guy who has played a full “campaign” of Risk: Legacy already. He’s a good guy, has agreed to no spoilers, and he chose his faction last so really, no advantage in picking “the best.” That said, here’s a tip to anyone who has a set of this game, because even though he’d played it once, the game still had surprises for him… cause his last play through they totally missed something…

See, just randomly, I wanted to stick something in the bottom of the box, so I lifted out the component tray. Underneath the component tray is an envelope. It looks just like the other envelopes in the game that have the new “stuff” in them. But this one is hidden, totally, and never mentioned in the rules… and on the envelope it says this.

Do Not Open — Ever

What the heck am I supposed to do now? Should I open it? Should I open it now? Should I open it later? It says, Ever. Argh.

And on Sunday night we’ll be playing again. And I’ll know it’s there. Mocking me.

Seriously. What do I do? What would you do?

5 responses

  1. Seriously – you know your gonna open it. The only question is when. I would open it after my first game in which I was confident we had played “by the rules as written”.

  2. Interesting… we’ve played by the rules as currently written in two games so far…

    That is to say, one of the changes I neglected to mention: you change the rulebook too as you play.

  3. This sounds like a lot of fun.

  4. Hi,

    Apologies for the off-topic comment, but I couldn’t find a contact email for you.

    A while ago I put out an ebook of my writing, called ‘The New Death and others’. It’s mostly short stories, with some obvious gamer-interest material. For example I have a story inspired by OD&D elves, as well as poems which retell Robert E Howard’s King Kull story ‘The Mirrors of Tuzun Thune’ and HP Lovecraft’s ‘Under the Pyramids’.

    I was wondering if you’d be interested in doing a review on your blog (either a normal book review, or a review of its suitability as gaming inspiration).

    If so, please let me know your email, and what file format is easiest for you, and I’ll send you a free copy. You can email me (news@apolitical.info) or reply to this thread.

    You can download a sample from Smashwords:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/92126

    I’ll also link to your review from my blog.

    Yours,
    James.

  5. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that produce the most significant changes. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

