Fantasy Flight’s New Star Wars RPG

So, here’s the best information I’ve seen so far about the new Star Wars RPG coming from Fantasy Flight.

It’s also the worst news I could have gotten about the new Star Wars RPG coming from Fantasy Flight.

My first real post on this blog was about how utterly awful I find the Warhammer Fantasy, 3rd edition RPG to be. I’ve tried it again since that first experience — and I really, really, hate that game. It’s obvious that someone likes it, and you know, good for them — but I hate that game.

And now it’s confirmed that Star Wars will be using the whole “narrative dice” thing. So, I guess this will be the first incarnation of a Star Wars RPG that I will not be owning or playing. Oh well. Can’t win ’em all.

Don’t get me wrong. I love a lot of what Fantasy Flight does. Just look at my recent explosion of joy over the Warhmmer: Invasion LGC. And you know, I was so excited that this weekend we went out and picked up the Lord of the Rings LCG. And it was awesome. But as long as FF is using the Narrative Dice mechanic for new RPGs… I’m out.

3 responses

  1. I agree with your sentiments regarding FFG’s Narrative Dice Mechanic. I’ve been a HUGE fan of the Warhammer 2nd edition RPG. In truth, there’s nothing wrong with the mechanics for it, IMO. And then to see such a radical change from an excellent system to….that.

    A real shame. FFG does alot of good stuff. Picking up Android: Infiltration tomorrow and I heard the new Netrunner LCG was a huge hit at Gen Con (Huge fan of the original m’self). And then…narrative dice….*shakes head*

    But, to each their own.

  2. A guy in our society is going to be running WFRP 3rd for a nine month campaign slot. As a huge fan of 2nd ed, it wasn’t my thing at all, and I think thatthis is going to be the biggest challenge of it. I’ve played 3rd, and for a small adventure over a couple of weeks, it’s kind of fun; like a board game with more RPG elements. Will it work for months on end? I doubt it, but I’m watching with interest.

  3. @geekbob
    Also – should have mentioned again… Yes, I’m a huge fan of the 2nd edition of Warhammer Fantasy. And FFG really does make awesome stuff — Just not this… but you’re right, to each their own.

    @shortymonster
    Good luck with that. I hope that you have fun, despite the system. I’ve given it a shot twice and I’m not diving back in.

    To be fair… part of what I hate about WH3e is all the damn fiddly bits. I mean, I hate the dice, but I hate the fiddly bits too. So it might be a step up in the Star Wars game that it doesn’t seem to have all the fiddly bits. That’s something.

Leave a Reply

