Marscon 2014

Back from Marscon 2014 and I can say this year I had a great time. My wife and I have been attending Marscon for 6 or 7 years now and we’ve always been big fans. It was odd to be headed to the con this year with a little apprehension. Last year, the con moved to a new hotel and the transition did not seem smooth. We put it down to the move and went on but we worried as we headed out this year about what we’d do if it was still awkward this year.

Happily, I can report that Marscon was right back on track and last year was just a blip. Marscon is probably around 1200 attendees strong at this point and it is fairly cozy, with a friendly atmosphere and a good community. The con has really nice gaming spaces and I got to try out a game this year (Wings of War) that I’d seen played but never had a chance to try out. WP_20140118_10_53_05_Pro

That little plane out there in the middle of the water, the one that seems to have completely lost his way? Yeah, that’s me. Movement in this game is a lot of fun and I very much enjoyed the way damage is dealt but then I took a hit that left me unable to move at fast speeds so I was tooling around like a wounded duck trying to get back to the battle… all in all a very fun game.

One of the things we love best about Marscon is the music community. I’d say we spend two-thirds of the con at concerts and shows. Really fantastic shows this year by Mikey Mason, Jonah Knight, Griff’s Room Band, the Blibbering Humdingers, Danny Birt, and Picti. The closing concerts especially were a ton of fun and, well, the Filk and Cookies event on Friday night was a blast. The next time you see Jonah Knight, do not ask him about the Corn Palace… Seriously.

The Charity Auction this year was also a spectacular event, raising a ton of money and selling some pretty wild stuff – like a Dalek – which seemed to concern a Dr. Who at the show…

WP_20140118_20_43_57_Pro

I apologize that I don’t know who the person cosplaying the Doctor is – if anyone knows, please let me know… but yeah, the Dalek went expensive… which was great for the charity.

Overall, Marscon is a great time and it was really nice to see them work things out with the new space to maximize the wonderful times at this con. It was a great kick-off to my con season and now I’m really looking forward to February and Mysticon.

If you’re looking for a fun con around the Williamsburg, VA area, check out Marscon next year – you won’t be disappointed.

One response

  1. The doctor would be me.it was my.first con,and I’ll definitely be back!

Leave a Reply

