Masters (of the Universe) Monday

I’ve been watching the 2002-2003 remake of the Masters of the Universe (MotU) lately and I must say that I enjoy it quite a bit. It’s inspired me to give a day of the week to these fantastic characters and I always thought that if I decided to stat these characters out, I’d use Simon Washbourne’s game, SUPERS.

As SUPERS has recently been given a revision/2e treatment I thought it was the perfect time to take on this project.

Last week I wrote up Mekaneck – a personal favorite – so I thought I’d start the villains this week with the first MotU toy I ever had – Beast Man!

For a history and more details about the character, check out his entry at the Wiki Grayskull. Described as a “Savage Henchman,” Beast Man seems to range in ability quite a bit from appearance to appearance. I’m going to go middle of the road and try to make a version faithful to the 2002 cartoon.

Beast Man [20D]
Concept: Savage Henchman

Resistances
Composure 1D
Fortitude 4D
Reaction 4D
Will 1D

Aptitudes
Animal Handling 3D
Athleticism 3D
Fighting 4D
Survival 3D

Powers
Beast Control 5D (Telepathy, Mind Control Only, Only on Beasts; [-2D])
Super Strength 3D

Advantages/Disadvantages
Social Hindrance (Uncouth) [-1D]

Compentency Dice 0D

So, there is no Beast Control power in SUPERS!. I realize I could have just given him the Animal Friendship advantage but I really wanted him to control the beasts rather than have an affinity to them. I made it pretty strong as he controls some pretty serious monsters in the cartoon. Otherwise, he’s basically just a savage. I hope you like him.

More to come each Monday – next up – another lovable loser – Ram Man!

Leave a Reply

