D&D Attack Wing – Tournament Three (something about poisoning a well?)

The local comic shop (The Secret Lair) held the Month Three Organized Play event for D&D Attack Wing this past weekend. It was a decent turnout and everyone seemed to have a good time. I’m reminded at each of these events that no matter how often we play, there are still rules questions which come up infrequently enough that we should all consider ourselves, “still learning the game.”

That said, I feel like, as players, we are reaching the point where we have developed some tendencies, and we generally know what we like. I, for one, enjoy playing the good guys and I’ve recently been running a team with Nymmestra and two Angelic Paladins which I very much enjoy. The team has also proven surprisingly competent.

So for the tournament, I decided that I’d play a variation, using Nymmestra and Sarpiel – with each coming in at exactly 45 points, and then I’d just take whatever popped out of my booster. I pulled Dragonfly the Gray – the elf druid.

[As a brief aside here… I was deeply disappointed at pulling Dragonfly. Not only is his generic version one of the most worthless in the game – which limits his usefulness outside of the tournament scene – but in my consideration of using him, I’d never really found a reason to think he was worth much. Sure Control Weather is decent but most of my armies fly anyway. Call Lightning is an okay direct damage spell, but all in all, I just don’t like him. To end this aside, I’m just going to apologize to Mr. the Gray. He was a solid member of the team and did a great job. I will no longer malign the Druid (at least the named version).]

The day was a lot of fun. In both Round One and Round Two I squared off against generic versions of the Red Dracolich. I expected him to see play at the tournament, he’s a great looking figure, powerful, and I know several players who have just been waiting with baited breath for his arrival in the game.

My first round paired the Dracolich with a Jarl Horn, who (and his little brother the Frost Giant Fighter) is still a very popular character for play at my local venue. This was the only round where the druid died, getting sandwiched between Jarl Horn and the Dracolich one fateful turn. It was a rough round, exchanging heavy blows, but I pulled out a narrow win.

wp_20150322_11_28_09_pro

The second round, a Dracolich, and Malebolge, the deadly gargoyle. He had pulled Rath Modar for his booster figure – which scared me a little – but I knew I had a wizard too, so I felt good. The limited mobility of the Dracolich really worked against it in this game and I was able to position better – primarily due to my characters just having stronger maneuver dials. It was a good fight, but with one battle behind me and a good sense of what I could do, I was able to win this one and take full points.

My final opponent of the day was my wife, Jenny. Now, if you recall my last tournament report, I played Jenny in the first round and she stomped me. This time, I played her in the last round… and she stomped me anyway. She was playing a variation on her team from the previous month, bringing Claugyiliamatar, a generic Ballista, and Talon Everhale. She pulled Rezmir as her booster figure and used her primarily to gather antidote tokens. Which was fine as her remaining force was more than capable of stomping my angel and wizard into the ground.

A few observations from the day…

I really enjoy the Angel. I’m looking forward to the Solar joining the fray in a few months because I’m a big fan of the Angelic Host. Both Sarpiel and his Angelic Paladin generic have been excellent team players for me and I have had such success and fun with them that the challenge now is remembering to play other teams.

Nymmestra remains the star of spell casting glory. While Rath Modar is a great addition to the game, I feel we are overdue for another full caster with a variety of interesting options. I would also like to see a spell enter the game that makes Disintegrate not the automatic go-to choice for Nymmestra. I like Ice Storm and Phantasmal Killer but nothing compares to that six dice attack that penetrates armor for raw effectiveness.

The other armies at the game today included a Balagos sighting, an Elf Troop (right?), another Nymmestra, and no Ontharr Frume (no one pulled one). Though several of us own Arveiaturace, we all tend to shy away from using her (at least the named version) so you probably won’t see her pop up in my play reports too often.

If I have any gripe about the Organized Play so far it is this. The two scenarios, while interesting on paper, were not very well realized on the table. The Month Two game was decent and a few players made attempts to get out of the Vault with the Compass. The Month Three game though was overly complex and basically lent itself to, “eh, let’s just fight it out.” I think only one game in three rounds had anyone competing to poison/cure. I have not yet read the upcoming scenarios but I hope they add more to the game play.

Overall, I am still finding a great deal of enjoyment in this game. With five waves of figures and multiple organized play prizes all in circulation, I was worried that I’d reach a point where I felt the metagame start to bog down, but as of now I still find the balancing and range of effective possibilities inherent in the 120 Legion Point standard game to be exceptional. There are a few glitches (high armor is over-valued considering the myriad means to penetrate it, for example) but this game is solid. D&D Attack Wing continues to draw favorable comparisons to Battletech in my mind and I find that I’m continually excited to play as well as at the prospect of “what comes next.”

Hope you all are having fun and that your skies are full of dragons!

Leave a Reply

