RPGaDay 2015: Day 9

August 9th.

Favorite Media You Wish Was An RPG

This one is a no-brainer for me. There are many great licensing candidates for RPGs but one definitely rises above all others.

With the amount of love and, let’s be honest, gushing that I’ve expended on Mass Effect on this blog and in other places is there any doubt this would be my choice. A well-done Mass Effect RPG would be an instant buy for me. There’s pretty much no way I wouldn’t jump right on top of this.

Mass Effect has a rich universe, a rich set of stories left to tell, a very diverse set of character options, and a solid set of core elements which could be built into a quality game. The universe is defined but not so rigorously as some other licenses and leaves a ton of room for gamers to get in there and stretch their creative legs.

I’ve played and run a lot of Star Wars RPGs (in various iterations) and I’m a big fan of epic space role-playing. Mass Effect hits the same sweet spot while having a completely different feel.

Don’t get me wrong – the last thing I’d like to see is a poorly produced Mass Effect game that claims the license without really delivering but done well, done with love, a Mass Effect RPG would be something to cherish.

As always, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

