RPGaDay 2015: Day 14

August 14th.

Favorite RPG Accessories

Uh… once again I’m afraid I don’t have much to say to this one. I don’t have dice superstitions, I’ll roll any dice you put in front of me. I don’t do much in terms of apps. My wife suggested GM screens when I asked her about it. She’s right, I do like my GM screen but I rarely do much with them, primarily just using them as a physical screen. And for many games, I haven’t even used a GM screen and I don’t give them much thought other than the basics (though I have made a custom screen for ACKS).

But discussing this with my wife did clue me in to the thing I do care about and always have with me as a GM. It would be easy and honest to say that I even overdue it. Though I’m not sure this qualifies as an RPG Accessory, it certainly a constant for me.

And that is my GM notebook. I love huge binders, with tab dividers. I print out everything from maps to pantheons to lists of sample names to just about every stray thought that runs through my mind. Even though I have adapted to a digital age of gaming – most of my games are PDF these days – and I always have a ton of stuff on my computer and tablet… nothing compares to a neatly printed and organized set of campaign notes. I print way too much. I’m not a green GM.

So, sure, I have a bunch of stuff (technical term) that I bring to the table with me but at the end of the day, the thing I love to do is put together my GM notebook. It keeps me focused, provides me with a pleasant experience, and is my favorite accessory.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

