RPGaDay 2015: Day 22

August 22nd.

Perfect Gaming Environment

I have often thought about my perfect gaming environment. Over the years it has evolved quite a bit. My earliest gaming was done at the end of the sidewalk in my cul-de-sac. We would play D&D with our B/X sets and lots of early board games like Saga and Mystic Wood.

Later, my gaming space became my mother’s kitchen table. I like playing near the fridge. I don’t like playing in a high traffic area.

Ask me today and my perfect gaming environment would be a room with built in shelves where I could be surrounded by my books and games and with enough room for a round table which fits up to 8 people comfortably. With enough room to add a mini-fridge and plenty of room to walk around. The round table is important to me. I like round tables to eating, for meetings, and for gaming. Having a table where everyone is equally far from the map/board and able to easily see and respond to each other is definitely my favorite way to play.

But more important, a place without distractions. As time has passed I’ve discovered that it becomes harder to get everyone to just sit down and focus on the game. So minimizing distractions is important to me.

Good stuff and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

