RPGaDay 2015: Day 27

August 27th.

Favorite Idea for Merging Two Games Into One

My first, easiest, answer is to simply say Shadowrun. I mean, it basically just blended Cyberpunk 2013 with D&D and got a whole new game that has thrived entirely in it’s own right. Is it the first “mash-up” game to come out of the hobby? I have no idea, but it is certainly an enduring one.

I do also like the merging of horror and the wild west that is Deadlands. Not really sure which two games they put together, more like just genres, but it is a heck of a mix that makes for some fascinating gaming. I’ve always enjoyed the Deadlands games I’ve been a part of and the mixed up nature of it is part of the reason.

Does anyone else remember Dragon Storm? I sometimes feel like the only one. It mixed CCG style card play with traditional roleplaying elements to be a collectible card RPG (CCRPG?). It was a weird one that got weirder before it went away. I loved it though. Stumbled on it at a con back in the mid-90s when it was fairly new. Susan Van Camp was the guest at the con and we played it quite a bit for a while after that. I still have all my cards and just recently discovered a quiet corner of the internet where they are keeping the game alive and active. I might have to get some friends together and try it out again for kicks.

Not sure this really answers the question but it – again – has been one of my favorite prompts to think about and write about.

See you tomorrow, and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

