RPGaDay 2015: Day 28

August 28th.

Favorite Game You No Longer Play

It’s funny, but where many of these questions have left me scratching my head or thinking about them for a while. This one had games clamoring for the opportunity to be mentioned, even if that means they are ex-gamefriends. They were favorites once, right?

Game One in this journey would have to be Star Wars (West End, D6 version). There was a time when this was the primary game I was playing. I mean lots and lots of D6 Star Wars. We did it all, bounty hunters, rebels, Imperials, Jedi; during the first trilogy, during the Thrawn trilogy… I could go on and on. But now, now I might pull one of these old books out for reference or for memories. It has probably been at least five years since the last time I was in a full on Star Wars d6 game. Well, when it comes to this one… it is definitely a case of “it’s not you, it’s me.”

Star Wars D6 is a great game, with a wealth of amazing supplements, a solid system, and is still one of the easiest games I’ve ever come across in terms of teaching it to new people. So there is nothing wrong here. It’s just, we drifted apart. There were other games, and other groups. We had mutual friends that we just don’t have anymore. But I will always be fond of this one, cherish the memories, and wonder what would happen if we ever met again, eyes meeting across a crowded room… could the spark come back?

Game Two I can just be up front and say… it was a different time. Mage: the Ascension was a revelation for me. That magic system! So magnificent in its understated way. So elegant and stylish. Mage really pushed me to be a better player, better game master. Mage was what I needed then. And will always be thankful for that. But it was more of a whirlwind romance in a foreign land than it was true love. And we both knew it. Some of your supplements were glorious – and I loved your Storyteller’s Guide. It’s like I still talk to your Mom sometimes, even though you and I both moved to different places. You were a great game and you came along at just the right time in my life (some might call it Coincidence, but we know it was Magick).

Game Three, well, we were so close to perfect for each other. Warhammer Fantasy RPG, 2nd Edition was just a great game. It took the old career system and smartened it up – along with the game system surrounding it – and turned it into a slick-looking, fun, dangerous little game. So many little touches went into making you great. You had this vast and interesting backstory. You managed your baggage well. You gave me a lot to think about. You got me creating again and you revitalized my [home brew] world. But stuff nagged at me. You had some habits that were just a little hard to overlook, like your insistence on using a career system which was amazing for creating characters but then made less and less sense across the life of a vivid campaign. And you had a dark side. A little too dark for me. In the end, we took a little time apart and I met someone new. I’m sorry to say, they are a lot like you – and a lot like my first love (D&D) – but merge what I loved about both of you in a way that just works for me. But hey, we’ll always have New Theris…

I’d like to thank Runeslinger (over at Casting Shadows) for the inspiration for this blog. He set the idea in motion with his post today when he made the leap that the really important part of the answer is the reason we no longer play these old favorites. Good stuff.

And this was fun. It’s been a long time since I was writing on the Rhetorical Gamer and it felt good. This month has been a good experience so far and I’m happy to be writing again.

As always, thanks for reading.

2 responses

  1. Great post!
    We should link to Cliff Richards’ “We don’t talk anymore”
    😉

  2. That is a fantastic idea.

Leave a Reply

