RPGaDay 2015: Day 31

August 30th.

Favorite Non-RPG Thing to Come out of RPGing

This is the last post for this month of RPGaDay. It’s funny, but this is perhaps the most challenging post of all. Because for me, RPGing has always been an end in itself. I don’t really think about what effect RPGs have had on my life, what meaning it all might have, or what influence RPG has had on the world around me… because I really only care about them in context of what they are.

Does that sound awful? Sure, there has been a powerful geek rising in the last decade or so. And there are a million new amazing board games, a million new video games, and all of that. But for me the best RPG-related stuff is, in fact, the RPGs.

Maybe I’m just a little obstinate or I don’t really understand the question, but as I’ve thought about and celebrated RPGs during this past month, what I’ve cherished has been the joy I get from this hobby that I have devoted myself to. I’m not a game designer, it’s not my living. It’s just my hobby. It’s my pastime. It’s my social activity.

For me, the best non-RPG thing to come out of RPGs is nothing more or less than the friends, the fun, and the joy this hobby has given me for 30+ years.

This month has been a fantastic chance to explore my feelings and post a few fun blogs. And this was a godsend for getting back into blogging. Daily posts for a month (okay, I missed four) have been very enjoyable. I’m looking forward to what comes next.

And, as always, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

